About South Soudan

South Sudan officially known as the Republic of South Sudan is a landlocked country in East-Central Africa.

The country gained its independence from (North) Sudan in 2011, making it the newest country (as of March 2018). Its capital and largest city is Juba.

South Sudan is bordered by Sudan to the north, Ethiopia to the east, Kenya to the southeast, Uganda to the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the southwest, and the Central African Republic to the west. It includes the vast swamp region of the Sudd, formed by the White Nile and known locally as the Bahr al Jabal. With Nilotic peoples forming the majority of its population, the nation is also referred to as the Nilotic Republic, as a homeland and supposedly the place of origin for the Nilotic race.

The territories of modern South Sudan and the Republic of the Sudan were occupied by Egypt under the Muhammad Ali Dynasty, and later governed as an Anglo-Egyptian condominium until Sudanese independence was achieved in 1956. Following the FirstSudanese Civil War, the Southern Sudan Autonomous Region was formed in 1972 and lasted until 1983. A second Sudanese civil war soon broke out, and ended with the Comprehensive Peace Agreement of 2005. Later that year, southern autonomy was restored when an Autonomous Government of Southern Sudan was formed. South Sudan became an independent state on 9 July 2011, following a referendum that passed with 98.83% of the vote.

South Sudan has a population of 12 million, with Christianity the majority religion. It is a United Nations member state, and a member state of the African Union, of the East African Community,and of the Intergovernmental Authority on Development.In July 2012, South Sudan signed the Geneva Conventions. South Sudan has suffered ethnic violence and has been in a war since 2013. As of 2017, despite not being ranked bottom in the latest World Happiness Report, it had the highest score on the Fragile States Index (formerly, the Failed States Index), surpassing Somalia.

States of south Soudan

Related image 

The former ten states of South Sudan grouped in the three historical provinces of the Sudan

Bahr el Ghazal


Greater Upper Nile

Prior to 2015, South Sudan was divided into 10 states, which also correspond to three historical regions: Bahr el Ghazal, Equatoria, and Greater Upper Nile:

Bahr el Ghazal

  • Northern Bahr el Ghazal
  • Western Bahr el Ghazal
  • Lakes
  • Warrap


  • Western Equatoria
  • Central Equatoria(containing the national capital city of Juba)
  • Eastern Equatoria

Greater Upper Nile

  • Jonglei
  • Unity
  • Upper Nile


Main article: States of South Sudan

Image result for States of south Soudan

The 28 states of South Sudan as established in 2015

In October 2015, South Sudan’s President SalvaKiir issued a decree establishing 28 states in place of the 10 constitutionally established states.The decree established the new states largely along ethnic lines. A number of opposition parties and civil society challenged the constitutionality of this decree and Kiir later resolved to take it to parliament for approval as a constitutional amendment. In November the South Sudanese parliament empowered President Kiir to create new states.

Bar el Ghazal

  1. Aweil
  2. Aweil East
  3. Eastern Lakes
  4. Gogrial
  5. Gok
  6. Lol
  7. Tonj
  8. Twic
  9. Wau
  10. Western Lakes


  1. Amadi
  2. Gbudwe
  3. Imatong
  4. Jubek(containing the national capital city of Juba)
  5. Maridi
  6. Kapoeta
  7. Tambura
  8. Terekeka
  9. Yei River

Greater Upper Nile

  1. Boma
  2. Central Upper Nile
  3. Akobo
  4. Northern Upper Nile
  5. Jonglei
  6. Latjoor
  7. Maiwut
  8. Northern Liech
  9. Ruweng
  10. Southern Liech
  11. Bieh
  12. Fashoda State
  13. Fangak State

On 14 January 2017 another 4 states have been created, Central Upper Nile, Northern Upper Nile, Tumbura and Maiwut leading to an overall number of 32.

The Abyei Area, a small region of Sudan bordering on the South Sudanese states of Northern Bahr el Ghazal, Warrap, and Unity, currently has a special administrative status in Sudan and is governed by an Abyei Area Administration. It was due to hold a referendum in 2011 on whether to join South Sudan or remain part of the Republic of Sudan, but in May the Sudanese military seized Abyei, and it is not clear if the referendum will be held.

What we are doing in south Soudan

What we are doing in south Soudan is preaching good news of the Gospel, training and equipping church leaders and improving on the lives of different people vulnerable group of people who are displaced and severely affected by the current Civil war.

We are helping orphans, widows and youth , so as they may become self-sufficient this will be achieved through out different different programs such as providing financial support to widows  and the youth who are grouped in teams in order to create their glass root projects to can provides an income for them.

And regarding orphans we are knocking doors in various organizations around the world that are willing to partner with us in order to support orphans.